![]() | ![]() |
Citibank Scam
You may be a victim of a phishing scam if you get an email like this: From: Citibank Reply To: Citibank Dear Citibank Member, This email was sent by the Citibank server to verify your e-mail address. You must complete this process by clicking on the link below and entering in the small window your Citibank ATM/Debit Card number and PIN that you use on ATM. This is done for your protection -- because some of our members no longer have access to their email addresses and we must verify it. To verify your e-mail address and access your bank account, click on the link below. If nothing happens when you click on the link (or if you use AOL), copy and paste the link into the address bar of your web browser. http://www.citibank.com:ac-ZyTudqbVMwAAtoLRzWqt@tv9hkfs07.Da.rU/?Lb3ZGYOOTzHT7An --------------------------------------------- Thank you for using Citibank! --------------------------------------------- This automatic email sent to: (my email address) Do not reply to this email. R_CODE: k2AgO7PoBgctO9V7V7bV Looks authentic. But it's notThe key is the @ sign. Your browser sees this and something interesting happens. If you have Microsoft Internet explorer, it will display the first part of the link, http://www.citibank.com:ac-ZyTudqbVMwAAtoLRzWqt making you believe that you are on a CitiBank site. Netscape, Mozilla, Opera, etc will display the whole link: http://www.citibank.com:ac-ZyTudqbVMwAAtoLRzWqt@tv9hkfs07.Da.rU/?Lb3ZGYOOTzHT7An Regardless of you browser, you will actually go to tv9hkfs07.Da.rU and .ru means Russia! You are now on a phishing site hosted in Russia. This is a very crude attempt to get you to a non-citibank site based in Russia where they can download a virus to you, or a worm, or just show a screen that looks authentic but you give the scammers your information. |
|
Lynn R. Siewert AIMC
© 2006 Advanced Corporate Planning All rights reserved |